Forum Discussion

La_Admin_53194
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Dec 28, 2010

Error An unhandled exception occurred in the F5 Networks Management Pack data source.

Hi everyone,

I'm new with Scom 2007, and I'm trying to configure the management pack parameters, but there's some error that is appearing in the F5 log: "An unhandled exception occurred in the F5 Networks Management Pack data source". What does it mean?.

Thanks for your help!

4 Replies

Julian_Balog_34
    Historic F5 Account
    You probably get 405 event ID errors in the F5 Monitoring Log (in the Event Log). The error event should contain more details about the failure, basically stating that the connection to the F5 data source(s) could not be successfully made. This error may occur when the F5 Management Pack workflows are not running properly within the SCOM Health Service. Are you getting these errors on the SCOM root management server (RMS)? Or a management server? Can you tell us more about your SCOM environment? Is it a distributed management server environment, with RMS and [multiple] management servers?

If you deploy the F5 Management Pack in a distributed management server environment, make sure you install the F5 MPk on the RMS first. See the following article for more details on how to install the F5 MPk: http://devcentral.f5.com/wiki/default.aspx/MgmtPack/InstallingTheF5ManagementPack.html

You can also send us the setup.log file (in the Program Files\F5 Networks\Management Pack folder) to managementpack(at)f5(dot)com. This would give us some information about the deployment. Let us know, and we'll do our best to assist you.

Thank you,

Julian
  • Hi Julian, Thanks for your reply,

Indeed, there is an 405 error in F5 log, here is the description: