Forum Discussion

RobL216_235020
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Nov 30, 2015

How to test if working correctly

Hi all, So I am completely new to using load balancers and we have got a couple of F5 BIG-IP's for our exchange environment.

We are on version 11.5.3 and I have used the iApp template to setup on of these in our LAB for testing.

From what I can see it is all setup as it should be and the iApp service is there with the nodes showing green.

If I run the connectivity test from Outlook for Autodiscover I can see that that the files are pointing to the load balancer.

However if I look at the connection status for Outlook it shows me connected to the node names not the load balancer name. Is this correct? Also I cannot browse to OWA using the load balancer name.

I guess I have something wrong somewhere but how do I see the mail flow path from client to server through the load balancer?

I can raise a call and get some help that way but I would like to be able to sort this out myself so I can learn more about it.

5 Replies

mikeshimkus_111
    Historic F5 Account

Hi, for OWA, do you have DNS record pointing to the virtual server IP? For Outlook, is Autodiscover returning the correct URL for clients to connect to, and is the DNS for that hostname correct as well?

Since you are in a lab, you should be able to easily see if any traffic is hitting the virtual server(s) you have configured for the Exchange services by looking at the virtual server statistics tab.

RobL216_235020