Forum Discussion

Miguel_111028
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Oct 23, 2008

Inserting SSL client certificate into the header of the HTTP session

Hello group,

I do not have much experience in creating iRules and I need to set an iRule to an https virtual server type with client certificate authentication. The iRule should do the following:

1 .- Insert the entire client certificate (in PEM format) as a Multiline HTTP header named X-Client-Cert into the incoming HTTP request and send this header to the backend server.

2 .- Insert the original ip address of the client into a HTTP header named X-Forwarder-For and send this header to the backend server. I need this because I must use auto map SNAT Pool feature in the implied virtual servers.

It is possible to do all this in only one iRule?

Thanks you.

Miguel Angel.

16 Replies

• Jeff,

You would also need to configure/modify the app to read the custom HTTP headers which LTM inserts.

Aaron
  • Hello

I'm new to iRules and HTTPS and this link has been very helpful so far.

I too want to add the certificate's data to the HTTP header and send it to the backend server. But can anyone please tell me - when using "HTTP::header insert" calls, what will be the actual output header I would expect?

For example, for the following inserts:

HTTP::header insert SSLClientCertStatus $ssl_errstr2

HTTP::header insert SSLClientCertSN [X509::serial_number $ssl_cert2]

HTTP::header insert SSLClientCertb64 [b64encode $ssl_cert2]

what is the HTTP header going to look like?

And also - what other SSL attributes can I insert to the HTTP header? (and what are they going to look like in the actual HTTP header?).

Thanks.

Tom
    zafer
    Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
    Hi All

i want authenticate Clients with their certificate and SSL offload on bigip

i created two profile on bigip ; Client and Server SSL