Forum Discussion

bookbinder_1115
Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
Sep 21, 2010

Using the F5 as a Reverse Proxy for RSA SecurID Self Service

Hey Everyone, I am new to the F5 load balancer and iRules. From what I understand the F5 load balancer has the ability to act as a reverse proxy. In order to make the RSA device accessible from the web, I need to have a reverse proxy setup. How can I do this using iRules? Does anyone have a template to use that would make doing this easier? I have attached a link to RSA's documentation that shows the setup if you are using Microsoft ISA 2007. Hopefully this will help. http://www.rsa.com/products/securid/specs/proxy_sever.pdf Thanks!

21 Replies

• Hi guys,

Just checking if this is still the case? i.e no port changes can be made at the same time as the changing other parts of the url?

We have a requirement to do both.

• Just checking if this is still the case? i.e no port changes can be made at the same time as the changing other parts of the url?

i have not read the proxypass but i believe both (i.e. changing uri and port) can be done by either using proxypass or not using it.

if you can post the irule, people here who know should be able to help. :-)

• Thanks nitass,

I just read the proxypass documents and it seems that in V10 and V11 of proxypass, it is supported.

Thanks again!

• I have RSA SecurID working with proxypass without changing any port numbers and not requiring users to supply the 7004 tcp port externally. I will upload instructions later this evening. I have to go offsite to a meeting.

--Ryan

VAP_142052
      Icon for Nimbostratus rankNimbostratus
      Ryan, Could you please share the instructions? Thanks,
  • You can do this without proxypass using the following two irules.

If your environment is HA create a custom snat pool that uses only one of your floating IP addresses.

SNATs > SNAT Pool List > Create > Name it and add the single floating IP address... Add to your Virtual servers